When I have nothing to blog about…

I’ve mentioned it before, and it will probably come up again, but I sometimes have nothing to blog about. I’m in a waiting pattern with Alien Like Me coming out at the end of April, when I can finally shout it from the rooftops, Buy My Book, Buy My Book!

Until then, let me tell you about taking my kids to see Zootopia. My youngest is just about to turn 4 and while this was not her first movie, Kung Fu Panda 3 took that honor, it is still a relatively new experience for her. My oldest has been going to the movies since she was that age, but she has always been a calmer child, whereas my youngest is best described as, um, willful and energetic. So as we sit down to watch the movie, before which I made them both use the restroom, I settled in to what I knew would be two hours of trying to shush my girl, and keep her sitting still. It didn’t work. I knew it wouldn’t.

For some reason, at home my kid can hold off a bathroom trip for like six hours, but get her sitting in a dark theater and she has to go every half hour. Then there is also the seat that doesn’t sit even, oh no, it bounces! And then if there is a scary spot she has to sit on my lap, or even better, go down the line of seats to sit on her daddy’s lap. Oh, and let’s not forget the popcorn, of which she ate all of hers and then most of mine.

Somewhere through all this there was a movie on, a movie with cute animals and a bunch of songs, that held her attention for most of the time. Well, some of the time.  It was a cute movie, I enjoyed what I got to see of it.  I bet if you take your young kids to a theater, the experience I just described is familiar to you. I think that if you are willing to go through it, Zootopia is a good movie to see most of.

Leave a Reply

