Dealing with discouragement

I am, by nature, a happy person. A person who feels that helping others is just what you do.  I don’t do it because I have to. I don’t do it to get something out of it. I do it because it makes me feel good.  It makes me happy, and I like to be happy.

Lately though, I have been discouraged. I’ve had some writing blocks which I’m sure has fed it. My goal for the year is fluid at best and keeps changing which throws me in a spin, which has also contributed to the discouragement. And then, there is the little matter of not getting help I think I need. Now in the long run I may not need the help, but at this moment, it feels pretty huge. And I’m getting crickets. Crickets I tell you. And it hurts. And it makes me a tad rage-y. There could be reasons. Heck, I’m sure there are reasons, but right now all I see is that people I help all the time, whenever I can, are not helping me back, and that just seems wrong.

So today I am trying to remind myself that I don’t help others to get help in return. That all I can manage is myself.  I cannot make people help me, just because I have helped them. That is not why I do it in the first place. It will be my mantra today, I can’t manage what others do, only what I do. And no matter how upset I am, I won’t change my way of doing things. I might listen to happy songs today though (I’m looking at you Maroon 5).

So I hope you have a great day, and maybe just maybe, help someone today. it’ll make you feel good, promise.

 

 

One thought on “Dealing with discouragement

  1. I am sure I am one of these people you refer to in this blog. I am reading your story. It’s just taking me longer than usual, because, well life! I’m putting you at the top of my list now that meet season is over. I don’t want you to feel
    discouraged, and I also want you to know that I am willing to help. I just sometimes get sidetracked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

