Doing as I say, or, We’re off to see the wizard!

I told a friend the other day to make sure she was reading to her two year old. “It’s where they get their vocabulary” I told her. When my oldest was young I read to her everyday.  It never failed. It was our time together at the end of the day, or our time before nap to calm down. But something happened after I had my second daughter. My oldest was able to read to her. I let her. Good sister bonding time I thought, and I haven’t read a bedtime story since.

And you know what? That’s crap. It really is. I want them to bond, I really do, but it’s not my big girl’s job to do that. It’s mine. So in an effort to do as a say, I bought a copy of The Wizard of Oz to start reading to my girls. Because it is important to read to your children every day, even when they’re old enough to read to themselves. Also, I’ve never read it, only seen the movie and that needs to be remedied. I can’t wait to sit them down tonight and start to read it. To do funny voices. To look at the really cool illustrations.

20160127_111441.jpg

Do you still read to your kids? I can’t believe I let it slip. I still remember my oldest daughter’s face every time I read her The Spider and The Fly, which is still one of her favorite books, 4 years later.

2 thoughts on “Doing as I say, or, We’re off to see the wizard!

  1. My 6 year old gets read to by both me and her father every night, except on those nights he works overtime. She reads at near 4th grade level, and I attribute it to that fact. Because she CAN read so well, though, she’s starting to grow out of bedtime stories from us which is making me a little sad. I went to read to her yesterday, and she said “I can do it, mommy.” and took the book from me. -.-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

