Dreams

I’ve never kept a dream journal. I wonder now if that was a huge mistake. I’ve always had crazy vivid dreams. When I was young I used to have a reoccurring dream about a vampire that tried to get me in my friends front yard. I had that same dream so many times that I still remember it in great detail, even though ti’s been about 20 years since I last had it. The same goes for the nightmare I used to have about the guy who hid in my closet all night, only coming out to get my after my mom had gone to bed. Β For years I had that nightmare after watching one of those, To Catch A Predator type shows (thanks for that mom).

Even now as an a adult I have these crazy dreams. I wake with whole worlds built in my head, characters that are evil, those that are good, and a few in between. Worlds were things don’t work they way they do now, but oh, what if they did. And just this morning, for the first time ever, I wrote down my dream, because man will it make a good book. I haven’t yet decided how to flesh it out, what age range I should write it in, but the base is there, and it’s going to be fun.

Do you keep a dream journal? I may just start now. I have a fairly good stack of empty notebooks, I’m sure I can find one that will be perfect for this new purpose.

5 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Hello Sherilyn Putnam,

    Thank you for sharing a bit of those old reoccurring dreams that you had many years ago, it is impressive that you are able to still remember that much, I think that keeping a dream journal is usually a good idea for a variety of reasons (like improving your dream recall, improving your chances to lucid dream, and more).

    I have been blogging my dreams every day for over two years without missing a day so far, and I have been keeping a public online dream journal since 2007.

    Good luck with whatever your plans are for your latest dream. πŸ™‚

    -John Jr

    Like

  2. I never thought about a dream journal. Not so much because I don’t have vivid dreams. But because I don’t have a way to record them. I suppose I could use my One Day app, and I could go away to the kitchen and type it out. It just seems too much work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello G.R. McNeese,

      One simple and easy recommendation of mine is voice recording your dreams using either your phone, MP3 player, tablet, voice recorder, computer, et cetera; I voice record my dreams sometimes until I can type them later. πŸ˜‰

      Blogging your dreams can definitely be time consuming and pretty lonely in my opinion, but voice recording them is quick and easy; and you could always just type them later when you have time, or you can just upload the audio online instead of typing them.

      -John Jr

      Like

Leave a Reply

