Guest post: Emerald Barnes

Today I have the great pleasure of having a fellow author from the UPrush/ UPdrift imprints from Booktrope publishing.  Today she brings us a reminder about beauty. A lovely reminder, if I do say so myself

emerald4-small

“You’re beautiful.” How many of you believe me when I say that?

Okay, you. In the back, put your hand down.

“You need to change.” How many of you believe me when I say that?

All of you, put your hand down.

It’s easier to believe someone when they say that you have to change how you look, how you speak, how you dress, etc, but when it comes to someone calling us beautiful or handsome, we laugh and say, “Yeah right, and shake our heads as we walk away.

I’m here to tell you that you’re beautiful. Whether you choose to believe me right now or not is fine, but one day, I hope that you can see your beauty and learn to love yourself.

Why am I so adamant about pointing out that you’re beautiful and to love yourself? Because I’ve been to the point where I hated myself because of my looks, and I do not want anyone else experiencing that. I loathed myself, and when I finally let go of that hatred, I started living a better life. I didn’t hate myself, and I finally knew my worth.

There will always be people who will try to intimidate you into changing how you look, and if you want to change, that’s fine. But, I want you to know that whether you decide to change or not, it should be your decision, not others. Don’t let anyone bully you into feeling worthless if you don’t change. You’re perfect as you are, but you’ll also be perfect if you want to lose weight, change your hair, or buy new clothes.

The important thing is to love yourself enough to do what is best for you. But I hope you will always see how worthy you are. You’re worthy to be loved. You’re worthy to be happy. You’re worthy.

Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. You’re worth isn’t dependent upon someone else’s opinion. It’s dependent upon yours. You have the ability to love yourself or hate yourself, and I hope you choose love.

When you learn to love yourself, you’re allowing yourself to be happy and to be free of what the world expects you to be. As long as you are yourself, you’ve already made it.

See, I’ve been on both ends of this spectrum and every place in between. I’ve been sad with myself. I’ve been happy with myself. I loved myself, and I loathed myself. But today, as I look in the mirror and wonder what I can change about me, I see a strong woman capable of making her own decisions on whether she’s changing for herself or the world.

I hope that you can say that for yourself. I hope that you can love yourself enough to do what

you want to do, not what everyone expects you to do.

#youarebeautiful and that’s all there is to it.

ABOUT Emerald Barnes:
Emerald Barnes graduated with a B.A. in English with an emphasis on Creative Writing at Mississippi University for Women. She resides in a small town in Mississippi and has the accent to prove it. She’s an auntie to three beautiful nieces and two handsome nephews. She’s a Whovian, a little bit of a nerd, a reader, a writer, and a family oriented person. God is number one in her life, and she thanks Him continuously for His love and favor.
Connect with Emerald online:
Facebook: Emerald Barnes
Twitter: @emeraldbarnes
TSU: http://www.tsu.co/EmeraldBarnes
ebarnes23.wordpress.com/
www.emeraldbarnes.us/
2 thoughts on “Guest post: Emerald Barnes

Leave a Reply

